Books Similar to Diary of a Wimpy Kid

Looking for books similar to Diary of a Wimpy Kid? If you loved the Diary of a Wimpy Kid series, check out these books that are perfect for fans of the Wimpy Kid books. From funny stories about school and family to hilarious graphic novels, you’re sure to find a new favorite book on this list.

Checkout this video:

Introduction

Diary of a Wimpy Kid is a series of children’s fiction books written by American author and cartoonist Jeff Kinney. All the books are the journals of the main character, Gregory Heffley. The books have been generally well received, with critics praising their humor, relatibility and fiction-writing style. In addition, the books have also beenNEW PARAGRAPH criticized for poor spelling, grammar and inappropriate humor for younger readers.

If you’re looking for books similar to Diary of a Wimpy Kid, there are plenty of other titles that fit the bill. Whether you’re looking for more journals or just more funny middle-grade fiction, these 10 books are sure to make you laugh.

The Best Books Similar to Diary of a Wimpy Kid

Diary of a Wimpy Kid is a great book for kids who are just starting to read chapter books. The book is about a boy named Greg who is trying to navigate his way through middle school. If your child liked Diary of a Wimpy Kid, they will probably enjoy other books that are similar. Here are some of the best options.

The Worst Years of My Life

The Worst Years of My Life is a 2016 novel by Jeff Kinney. It is the seventh book in the Diary of a Wimpy Kid series. The book was published on November 1, 2016, by Amulet Books.

  Dog Books For Kids

Rafe Khatchadorian is starting middle school at Hills Village Middle School. He has to deal with bullies, mean teachers, and all the other challenges that middle school brings. Can Rafe make it through the worst years of his life?

Smile

In Smile, Raina just wants to be a normal sixth grader. But one night after an orthodontist appointment, she trips and falls, knocking out her two front teeth. What follows is a long and frustrating journey with varied doctors appointments to get new teeth. During this time, Raina becomes withdrawn and her friends start to drift away. Finally, she gets her wish and becomes “normal” again… but at what cost?

Smile is very similar to Diary ofa Wimpy Kid in that it is a funny, relatable story about kids just trying to get through middle school. However, Smile also deals with some more serious topics, such as bullying and body image issues. If you’re looking for a book that will make you laugh and think, Smile is the perfect choice.

Big Nate

Created by Lincoln Peirce, Big Nate is a popular series of comics and novels that many kids (and adults!) enjoy. If you’re looking for books similar to Diary of a Wimpy Kid, then this is definitely a series you should check out.

Big Nate follows the life of Nate Wright, a middle-schooler who loves to play pranks and is always getting into trouble. While the books are definitely funny, they also deal with some relatable themes that kids (and adults) can relate to, such as friendships, family dynamics, and school life.

  Last Kids on Earth Book 1: A Review

Dork Diaries

Dork Diaries is a series of illustrated novels written and illustrated by Rachel Renée Russell. The series, which is meant for tween girls, follows the diary entries of Nikki Maxwell as she records her adventures in and out of school.

The first book in the series, Dork Diaries: Tales from a Not-So-Fabulous Life, was published on June 2, 2009. As of February 2016, eleven books have been released in the United States, with two additional books set to be released in 2016. The series has been well received, selling more than 15 million copies worldwide as of 2014.

If you’re looking for books similar to Diary of a Wimpy Kid, then be sure to add Dork Diaries to your reading list!

Captain Underpants

Captain Underpants is a series of children’s books by American author and illustrator Dav Pilkey. The series revolves around two fourth-graders, George Beard and Harold Hutchins, and Captain Underpants, an anthropomorphic superhero who fights crime while wearing only a pair of tighty-whities.

The books have been severely criticized for their potty humor but have also been praised for their positive representation of childhood friendships and imagination. As of April 2015, the series had sold more than 80 million copies worldwide.

Conclusion

In conclusion, these are some of the books that are similar to Diary of a Wimpy Kid. If you have read and enjoyed Diary of a Wimpy Kid, then you will definitely enjoy these books as well.

Scroll to Top