A Diary of a Wimpy Kid: All Books Reviewed

A Diary of a Wimpy Kid is a series of children’s novels written and illustrated by Jeff Kinney. The books chronicle the adventures of a young boy named Greg Heffley as he navigates his way through middle school.

This blog reviews all of the books in the series, providing readers with an overview of each one.

Checkout this video:


The Wimpy Kid series started in 2007 with the online book “Diary of a Wimpy Kid”. The books are written and illustrated by Jeff Kinney. The series has been incredibly popular, with each new book topping bestseller lists. The books have been translated into over 50 languages and made into 3 movies.

There are currently 12 books in the series, plus 2 movie diaries and 1 activity book. In this article, we will review all of the Diary of a Wimpy Kid books.

A Diary of a Wimpy Kid

The “A Diary of a Wimpy Kid” book series is a collection of fiction books written by American author and cartoonist Jeff Kinney. The books are about a middle school student named Greg Heffley and his struggles with school, family, and friends. The series has been very successful, spawning two movies, a video game, and various merchandise. Let’s take a look at all the books in the series and see how they stack up.

Book 1: Diary of a Wimpy Kid

Diary of a Wimpy Kid is the first book in the Diary of a Wimpy Kid series. The book was released on April 1, 2007, and has been made into two films.

The book is about a middle schooler named Greg Heffley, who starts to keep a journal of his life. Through Greg’s journal, we see him go through many embarrassing and funny situations. We also see him try to become popular, and deal with his family and friends.

I think that this book is hilarious! I could not put it down, and I read it in one sitting. I would definitely recommend it to anyone who likes to laugh.

Book 2: Rodrick Rules

Book 2: Rodrick Rules is the second book in the Diary of a Wimpy Kid series. In this book, Greg Heffley is dealing with his teenage years and all the drama that comes with it. He’s got bullies to deal with, girls to impress, and a nasty case of acne. On top of all that, he’s got a brother who seems to be out to make his life miserable.

Greg does his best to navigate the minefield of adolescence, but he’s not always successful. He makes some mistakes and learns some valuable lessons along the way.

Rodrick Rules is a funny, relatable book that will resonate with anyone who has ever been a teenager. If you’re looking for a laugh-out-loud read, this is the book for you.

Book 3: The Last Straw

In The Last Straw, the Heffley family goes on a cruise. Greg hates the idea, as he doesn’t do well on boats. Rodrick thinks it will be great, as there are no rules on a ship.

When they board, Greg is unimpressed. He soon discovers that there is a rule about flushing the toilet and that Rodrick has been hired as a cabin boy.

The boys end up getting their own cabin, which is tiny and has two bunk beds. They also have to share with their dad, who snores loudly.

On the first night, Greg tries to sneak out to watch a movie but gets caught by a security guard. The next day, he goes to the arcade but gets seasick and has to go back to the cabin.

Later, Greg meets a girl named Holly and they become friends. She helps him with his seasickness and introduces him to her grandpa, who owns a magic shop on board the ship.

Greg starts to enjoy the cruise but then disaster strikes – his dad loses his wedding ring in the ocean. Greg is sure that he will be blamed and that his dad will be furious. But when they find the ring in Holly’s grandpa’s magic shop, all is forgiven and Greg has a great time on the rest of the trip.

Book 4: Dog Days

In Dog Days, Greg is anxious for summer vacation to start. But when his plans for a lazy summer go up in smoke, he has to find ways to stay cool. From drag racing to paint ball to allergies to job-hunting, Greg has one mishap after another. And when his best friend, Rowley, decides to spend the summer elsewhere, Greg is left to fend for himself.

But things start looking up when Greg meets a girl named Holly Hills. Suddenly Greg’s summer doesn’t seem so wimpy after all. . .

Book 5: The Ugly Truth

Greg Heffley has always been in a hurry to grow up. But is getting older really all it’s cracked up to be?

As Greg enters the seventh grade, he begins to realize that growing up isn’t as easy as it seems. Suddenly his mom and dad are treating him like a baby, his best friend is hanging out with girls, and life just isn’t fair.

To make things worse, Christmas is just around the corner and Greg has to figure out a way to get himself off of Santa’s naughty list!

The Ugly Truth is the fifth book in the hilarious Diary of a Wimpy Kid series. Join Greg on his latest adventure as he deals with friendships, family, and first crushes.

Book 6: Cabin Fever

Cabin Fever is the sixth book in the Diary of a Wimpy Kid series. The Heffleys are stuck indoors during a blizzard, but that doesn’t stop Greg from trying to find creative ways to have fun. When the power goes out, cabin fever sets in and things start getting really crazy. Will the Heffleys make it through another wintry disaster?

Like all of the Diary of a Wimpy Kid books, Cabin Fever is filled with hilarious illustrations and kid-friendly humor. This series continues to be a favorite among kids and adults alike!

Book 7: The Third Wheel

Book 7: The Third Wheel is the seventh book in the Diary of a Wimpy Kid series by Jeff Kinney. The book was released on November 13, 2012.

The Third Wheel follows main character Greg Heffley as he navigates the social minefield that is middle school, all while trying to avoid being a third wheel when his best friend Rowley starts dating a girl from their class. Along the way, Greg finds himself caught up in a love triangle of his own, and he must decide which girl he wants to be with.

The Third Wheel is another hilarious installment in the Diary of a Wimpy Kid series, and fans of the series will not be disappointed.

Book 8: Hard Luck

Book 8: Hard Luck is the eighth book in Jeff Kinney’s Diary of a Wimpy Kid series. The book was released on November 5, 2013.

Hard Luck is about a boy named Greg Heffley who seems to be having some bad luck. First, he gets dumped by his girlfriend, then he gets laughed at by his friends, and finally he gets hit in the face with a baseball. But when Greg’s luck seems to turn around, he starts to wonder if maybe some bad luck isn’t so bad after all.

The book was generally well-received by critics. Many praised the humor and illustrations, while others felt that the book was not as good as previous installments in the series.

Book 9: The Long Haul

The Long Haul is the ninth book in the Diary of a Wimpy Kid series by American author and cartoonist Jeff Kinney, first published in hardcover on November 5, 2013 by Amulet Books.

The book is about the Heffley family’s road trip to Meemaw’s 90th birthday party. The family rents an RV for the trip, but things quickly go wrong. Along the way, Greg gains a new friend named Fregley, and also has to deal with his know-it-all brother Rodrick.

The Long Haul was a New York Times bestseller and received positive reviews from critics.


In conclusion, the “Diary of a Wimpy Kid” series is a great collection of books that young readers will enjoy. The characters are relatable and the stories are amusing, making them perfect for reluctant readers. While the illustrations are simple, they add to the humor of the stories. If you’re looking for a funny book series to share with your kids, the “Diary of a Wimpy Kid” books are a great choice.

Scroll to Top