Last Kids on Earth Book 1: A Review

The Last Kids on Earth Book 1 is a post-apocalyptic novel written by Max Brallier. It was published on June 30, 2015 by Viking Children’s. The book follows the story of Jack Sullivan, a 13-year-old boy, who is one of the last kids on Earth.

Checkout this video:


The Last Kids on Earth book series is a post-apocalyptic middle grade fiction series written by Max Brallier and illustrated by Douglas Holgate. The first book in the series was published on August 18, 2015, by Viking Children’s. As of October 2019, eleven books have been published in the series.

The story follows thirteen-year-old Jack Sullivan and his friends as they attempt to survive in a world overrun by zombies. They take refuge in an abandoned tree house where they stock up on supplies and build a fort to protect themselves from the hordes of zombies and collaborate with other kids they meet along the way.

The books have received positive reviews from critics, who have praised their humor, adventure, and visuals. They have been nominated for several awards, including the Eisner Award for Best Digital Comic and the AAP Comics For Younger Readers Award.

The Plot

When the calendar runs out of days, the last kids on Earth will finally get their chance to party. Or so they hope.

In this New York Times bestselling horror-comedy graphic novel, written by Max Brallier and illustrated by Douglas Holgate, it’s the end of the world as we know it. An asteroid has collided with Earth, unleashing the Zombie apocalypse. Humanity has been annihilated… except for a lucky few kids who have been spared.

After banding together to fight off hordes of zombies, the kids find themselves holed up in a massive tree fort where they can finally relax and have some fun. But when an evil villain known as The Nightmare King sets his sights on taking over their fort, the kids must put aside their differences and use their unique skills to save their home—and humanity—before it’s too late!

The Characters

I really enjoyed the characters in this book. They are all unique and have their own backstories and motivations. The main character, Jack, is a bit of an outsider who doesn’t quite fit in at school. He’s the only one who seems to notice that something is wrong with the world and he’s determined to find out what it is. I liked that he was brave and resourceful and that he didn’t give up even when things got tough. The other characters are also well-developed and I think readers will enjoy getting to know them.

The Setting

The Last Kids on Earth book 1 is set in a post-apocalyptic world where most of humanity has been turned into zombies by a disease called the infection. The story follows the adventures of a group of kids who are the last known survivors of the infection. The group is made up of four main characters: Jack, June, Quint, and Maddy. The setting is primarily in the town of Wakefield, which is located in the state of Massachusetts, but the story also takes place in other locations such as New York City and Canada.

The Last Kids on Earth book 1 is a fast-paced, action-packed story that will keep readers entertained from beginning to end. If you’re looking for a new Zombie apocalypse story to add to your collection, this is one you won’t want to miss!


The Last Kids on Earth book series is all about the adventures of a group of kids who are the only ones left in their town after a zombie apocalypse. The books are full of action, humor, and heart, and they’re perfect for kids who love dark humor and post-apocalyptic stories. Themes in the series include friendship, teamwork, survival, and never giving up hope.


The Last Kids on Earth Book 1 is an excellent book for kids who love adventure. It is packed with action, suspense, and humor. The characters are likable and the illustrations are great. The book is also perfect for reluctant readers. It is a quick read that will keep them engaged.

Scroll to Top